Follow us on the social network
Contact No.:

Contact Us Today

14 day Cape to Dar Es Salaam Safari Tour

14day 14day2 14day3 14day4 14day5 14day6

Summary of this 14 day Cape to Dar Es Salaam Safari Tour :

  • Accommodation : Locomotive, Lodges, Hotel
  • Activities : Game drives, visit the Big Hole, Victoria Falls tour, Zambezi River sunset cruise, visit the exotic Zanzibar, Mount Kilamanjaro, the Ngorongoro Crater and the wildlife paradise Serengeti
  • Destination : Cape Town, Kimberly, Pretoria, Hoedspruit, (South Africa), Gaborone (Botswana), Victoria Falls (Zimbabwe), Livingstone, Lusaka (Zambia), Dar Es Salaam (Tanzania)

What you can expect from this 14 day Cape to Dar Es Salaam Safari Tour:

You are invited to travel on the most luxurious train in the world. This epic 14 day journey travels through South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Tanzania and is destined to become one of the most famous train journeys in the world. This is the ultimate African safari, designed for travellers who wish to re-live true adventure in complete luxury, comfort and security.

This magnificent safari will take you through South Africa with short tours of the diamond town of Kimberley and the capital city of Pretoria. Then you visit the famous Kruger National Park and go on game drives, before crossing through Botswana and into Zimbabwe. You will enjoy an overnight stop at the Victoria Falls Hotel.

The next day the train crosses Victoria Falls into Zambia, Lusaka, the Luangwa Valley and on to the incredible Tazara Railway line before arriving at Dar Es Salaam in Tanzania. Once there, guests have the option of visiting exotic Zanzibar, Mount Kilamanjaro, the Ngorongoro Crater and the wildlife paradise of the Serengeti.

Opposite direction possible.

This Rovos Rail safari tour is also available in the opposite direction from Dar Es Salaam to Cape Town (please enquire about specific departure dates and itinerary).

Day 1: Matjiesfontein, Eastern Cape, South Africa

Guests will transfer to station for departure on the Rovos Rail Edwardian Train Safari. You depart from Cape Town Station at 11h00. You will arrive at Matjiesfontein at 18h00. You have time to explore this Victorian village before dinner and overnight on the train.

Day 2: Kimberley, Northern Cape, South Africa

The train departs at 13h00 and arrives at Kimberley around 14h00. Enjoy lunch in Kimberley and visit to the Big Hole and Diamond Museum. You depart Kimberley at 16h00pm. You will have dinner on the train and overnight in one of the luxury cabins.

Day 3: Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa

At 11h30ayou arrive at Pretoria. Visit to Pretoria landmarks. Lunch followed by a City Tour of Pretoria. You depart Pretoria at 18h00.

Day 4: Hoedspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa

At 11h00 you arrive in Zeerust for a full board two-night stay at the 5-star Tau Game Lodge.

Day 5: Game Drives, Mpumalanga, South Africa

You will have an early morning and evening game-drive or guest activities. You overnight at Tau Game Lodge.

Day 6: Gaborone, Bostwana

After another early morning game drive you will be transferred to the train for a 12h00 departure from Gaborone, Botswana. Border formalities will be handled en route.

Day 7: Zimbabwe

The day is spent traveling through Zimbabwe. You will have some interesting lectures by a historian in the morning and afternoon.

Day 8: Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe

You will arrive at Victoria Falls at 11h00, where a transfer will take you to the Victoria Falls Hotel. Take part in a beautiful cruise along the Zambezi River and an optional African Spectacular Show at 18h00. Enjoy dinner and overnight at Victoria Falls Hotel.

Day 9: Victoria Falls, Zambia

You can spend the whole day at leisure. Tour the Falls, play a round of golf or book a Flight of the Angels. Enjoy all your options. You will depart Victoria Falls at 15h00. An hour and a half later you will handle Zimbabwe and Zambian border formalities.

Day 10: Lusaka, Zambia

A whole day of travelling includes breakfast, lunch and dinner on board. There will also be lectures in the morning and afternoon. You will pass through Lusaka at approximately 13h30.

Day 11: Kanona, Zambia

At 08h00 you will go on a brunch outing to Kundalila Falls. The train will depart again at 13h00, which means you will have dinner on board. You will pass through Mpika and Kasama during the night.

Day 12: Nakonde/Tunduma

Arrive at Nakonde/Tunduma at 16h00 for Zambian/Tanzanian border control. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner on board.

Day 13: Makambako, Tanzania

You arrive in Makambako at 10h00 and will descend the spectacular pass to Mlimba.

Day 14: Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

Arrive at Kiduna at 01h00 and continue your journey through Mzenga to Dar es Salaam. Enjoy breakfast on board. You will arrive at Tazara Station in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania, at 10h00. This rail safari ends here.

Please note:

Excursions may be changed according to schedule achieved. Times are approximate and cannot be guaranteed.